Marcilio and Ethridge Tie for Round 1 Win at PBR Wheeling Invitational

Marcilio and Ethridge Tie for Round 1 Win at PBR Wheeling Invitational

Delivering matching 88-point rides, each contender for the PBR Wheeling Invitational, presented locally by Oglebay, earned a critical 5.5 world points

WHEELING, W.V. – In front of a raucous West Virginia crowd, Alex Marcilio (Macaubal, Brazil) and Justin Ethridge (Buford, Georgia) were unrivaled Friday evening as the action got underway for the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour event inside WesBanco Arena in Wheeling. Delivering matching 88-point rides, Marcilio and Ethridge tied for the Round 1 win at the PBR Wheeling Invitational, presented locally by Oglebay.

As just the second rider to leave the chutes, Marcilio set the tone early for the Mountain State event, a picture of near perfection when he covered Baptism By Fire (BMC Bucking Bulls) for 88 points.

Ethridge then matched the effort later in the evening when he went the distance atop Brutal Player (Mason Bucking Bulls).

For their efforts, Marcilio and Ethridge will not only enter Championship Saturday atop the event leaderboard but also earned a crucial 5.5 world points.

On a night that saw 12 qualified rides, Paulo Ferreira Lima (Bezerros, Brazil) and Jake Morinec (Mokena, Illinois) tied for third.

Both riders were awarded 86-point scores, with Lima besting Kenny (Clark View Farms) and Morinec dominating Tick Tock (Bob Whisnant/Championship Pro Rodeo).

In addition to being within a mere two points of the No. 1 position on the event leaderboard, the qualified rides also netted Lima and Morinec 2.5 world points apiece.

Rounding out the Top 5 in fifth was Patterson Starcher (Tonganoxie, Kansas).

The 22-year-old Kansan rode Yippee High Cowboy (Clark View Farms) for 85 points to earn one world point in the race for the 2022 PBR World Championship.

Looking down the leaderboard, Lucas Divino (Nova Crixas, Brazil) and Dakota Eagleburger (Fair Grove, Missouri) who tied for sixth, also collected one world point each for their 84.5-point rides.

Divino covered Problems (Lightning Livestock), while Eagleburger made the requisite 8 atop Funky (GT Bucking Bulls).

The Top 10 was completed by Michael Lane (Tazewell, Virginia), who rode Flash (GT Bucking Bulls) for 84 points, in the eighth, Trace Brown (Stephenville, Texas), who outlasted Uncle Henry (TC Bucking Bulls/Elite Bucking Bulls) for 83 points, in ninth, and Quentin Vaught (Crane, Missouri), who covered Last Chance (Team Wyatt/Sho-Me Rodeo) for 82.5 points, in tenth.

The PBR Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour’s Wheeling Invitational, presented locally by Oglebay, was also a stop on the 2022 Million Dollar Bull Team Challenge.

Clark View Farms/Phillips won the performance with 273.89 points courtesy of the trips notched by Kenny, Jake Break, and Yippee High Cowboy.  

Second place was BMC Bucking Bulls with 271.91 points, while Mason Bucking Bulls was third with 271.41 points. BMC Bucking Bulls’ team included Black Ice, Baptism By Fire and Lone Survivor, while the bronze effort from Mason Bucking Bulls was earned courtesy of outs recorded by Brutal Player, Money Maker, and Buckle Up.  

PBR Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour action from Wheeling, West Virginia, and WesBanco Arena concludes on Saturday, March 19 with Round 2 and the championship round. Action gets underway at 7 p.m. EDT.

PBR Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour

PBR Wheeling Invitational, presented locally by Oglebay

WesBanco Arena – Wheeling, West Virginia

Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Alex Marcilio, 88-0-0-88.00-5.5 Points.

(tie). Justin Ethridge, 88-0-0-88.00-5.5 Points.

3. Paulo Ferreira Lima, 86-0-0-86.00-2.5 Points.

(tie). Jake Morinec, 86-0-0-86.00-2.5 Points.

5. Patterson Starcher, 85-0-0-85.00-1 Points.

6. Lucas Divino, 84.5-0-0-84.50-1 Points.

(tie). Dakota Eagleburger, 84.5-0-0-84.50-1 Points.

8. Michael Lane, 84-0-0-84.00

9. Trace Brown [1], 83-0-0-83.00

10. Quentin Vaught, 82.5-0-0-82.50

11. Cody McCandless, 82-0-0-82.00

12. Alisson De Souza, 70.5-0-0-70.50

Fernando Henrique Novais, 0-0-0-0.00

Venn Johns, 0-0-0-0.00

Trace Brown [2], 0-0-0-0.00

Caden Bunch, 0-0-0-0.00

Grayson Cole, 0-0-0-0.00

Kade Alberty, 0-0-0-0.00

Colt Robinson, 0-0-0-0.00

Matt Allgood, 0-0-0-0.00

Marcus Mast, 0-0-0-0.00

Tylor Cabe, 0-0-0-0.00

Brandon Chambers, 0-0-0-0.00

Carlos Garcia, 0-0-0-0.00

Victor Soares, 0-0-0-0.00

Tristen Marshall, 0-0-0-0.00

Alex Jenks, 0-0-0-0.00

Ueberson Duarte, 0-0-0-0.00

Kyle Jones, 0-0-0-0.00

Eli Byler, 0-0-0-0.00

Eduardo de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0.00

Josh Steele, 0-0-0-0.00

Keith Hall, 0-0-0-0.00

Devon Weaver, 0-0-0-0.00

Matt Oliver, 0-0-0-0.00

Buddy Asher, 0-0-0-0.00

Eder Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00

Adrian Stackhouse, 0-0-0-0.00

Andrew Decker, 0-0-0-0.00

Perry Schrock, 0-0-0-0.00

Eric Spence, 0-0-0-0.00

Michael Phillips, 0-0-0-0.00

Christian Cox, 0-0-0-0.00

Ted Flora, 0-0-0-0.00

Jeremy Beley, 0-0-0-0.00

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content